The inventor of coffee should be sainted!

A lazy Saturday morning, technically you are off work, but you know there are some things that you need to do. Now physically, there’s nothing that stops you,  you just don’t “feel” like it. What do you do?

I don’t know what you do, but I can tell you what I did this morning. I gulped down a tall glass of cold coffee, a respite from this scorching heat. Now if any of you have ever been to the northern parts of India in the summers, you’d know what am referring to. I stay in a landlocked zone, which makes me crave for the hills and the sea equally. So the cold coffee is definitely THE thing that calms me down.

Couple of sips down, I asked myself – Who says I need to wait until I ‘feel like’ doing something in order to start doing it? And bingo that did it! Nothing was really stopping me, I just needed a break, so I decided that before I get into the work mode, let me do something else, so I picked up my laptop, and started writing. You may like music, or may want to read a book, or watch a YouTube video, take that break, for half an hour, or 45 mins, and then get started on what needs to be done.

Give yourself a reason. Psychologists call this a promotion focus – and research shows that when you have one, you are motivated by the thought of an advantage or earnings, and work best when you feel excited and optimistic. Work is only “work” when you don’t enjoy it!

So pick up that glass of cold coffee, or the strong shot hot cup, whichever you prefer, and follow your passion!

Leave a Reply

